"While working to form a new athletic conference, we secured the services and consulting expertise of ASC. We were extremely pleased with their assistance and timeliness in helping us achieve our goals within a realistic and feasible budget. ASC was a trusted and valued resource in helping us develop membership goals, budgets, new bylaws, name and logo development, as well as a successful commissioner search. The ASC staff prepared us with just what we needed so our new commissioner could make immediate progress. ASC understands conference office operations and they were a tremendous asset for our leadership group.  I am pleased to say we now have a vibrant and growing conference thanks in part to ASC's important efforts."

Dr. Stephen W. Shirley
President, Minot State University
President (previous), Valley City State University

Jay Poerner scaledJay Poerner was selected to become the full-time commissioner of the Lone Star Conference on June 2, 2015. Poerner moves into this role after having served as interim commissioner for the past ten months. Poerner has been with the LSC for the past eight years in the Associate Commissioner role. Poerner was selected over a quality group of candidates.

Kurt Patberg of ASC, who has 15 years of commissioner experience, including nearly ten as a NCAA DII commissioner, aided the Lone Star Conference with this commissioner search. The search was re-opened following a decision in the fall of 2014 to suspend the search until the expansion discussions concluded. The LSC was being led by interim commissioner, Jay Poerner, who took over as the head of the LSC when Stan Wagnon resigned in July.     

The Lone Star Conference (LSC), with offices in Richardson, Texas, has recently agreed to expand its conference when it added the University of Texas-Permian Basin and Western New Mexico University. This addition will move the league to eleven member institutions located in New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas.

Formed more than 80 years ago, the LSC exists to assist its member institutions in the maintenance of intercollegiate athletics programs that are compatible with the highest standards of education and competitive sports. Since its inception in 1931, the pursuit and attainment of academic excellence among student-athletes has been a priority for each member institution. In the wake of recent membership changes, the conference has developed an intentional focus on elevating its status with the continued goal of being a premier conference in NCAA Division II. The LSC aims to provide a superior competitive experience for member institutions and to allow for comprehensive development of student-athletes through academic services and life skills programming. Formed with five charter members in April 1931, the storied league continues to build upon its proud history. The LSC has had 263 academic All-Americans since 1990 and 74 NCAA national championships since joining NCAA Division II in 1982. The LSC has been conducting championships in 14 sports but this number will grow with the expanded version of the league.

View article on Lone Star Conference website: